Life the Past Few Months

June 12, 2016 § Leave a comment

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this in previous posts, but the past few months have been an extremely busy time for me. Work is keeping me busy during weekdays, and weekends I’m pretty much working for CAPGA (the non-profit I co-founded). I barely have time to play video games, let alone write posts for my readers (though there are very few of you). I really need to start putting away time to spend to myself and collect my thoughts.

We (my coworkers and I) finally have the employee-facing site at a point where we’ve rebuilt almost everything from the old site, so it’s on to new features and making everything work better overall. On the customer-facing site, we’re going to be rolling out a loyalty program, along with an app, which has been my biggest project to date (and my biggest headache). Once that has been launched, we will be doing a full overhaul of the customer-facing site. Currently, it has the same backend it’s had since the beginning and we’re finally rebuilding it. So far, it’s me and one other working on this task; I’ve already been working on it for about a month and a half trying to figure out if any of the CMS options built around Laravel are viable for our needs or if we’ll just need to build everything out ourselves. Aaand it looks like we’ll need to do just that.

On the non-profit side of things, I’m also doing a full revamp; we’re using Laravel for our projects at work, so I decided to follow suit for my own tasks. Let’s keep the code-base similar, so I don’t need to completely change gears when switching projects. This project has been going very slow, however, since I’ve had to take days off working on it to go help host tournaments. Hopefully, this will no longer be an issue since I’m going on tourney hiatus til I can finish the site. Eventually, the hope is to use the website when hosting an event rather than having to use a local program to run brackets, then post rankings online for everyone to see. This will also help at the event itself: the crew calling out matches can do their thing and the commentators will have access to the brackets in real time. I still have a lot of work ahead of me, but in the end, it will definitely be worth it.

I’m going to try to make a habit of taking more time for myself in the coming weeks so I can actually finish the games I’ve purchased this past year. I finally finished Halo 5 (I had 1 mission left) and completed about 10% more of Rise of the Tomb Raider last weekend. I’m still only about 3 missions into Tom Clancy’s The Division, and a few hours into The Witcher 3Forza 6 and Overwatch (everyone I play with is about 3 times my level now). I should also probably find an app (preferably, something that syncs between my phone and computers) to jot down ideas that randomly pop into my head for things (mostly site related: design, coding issue/bug, or a page we should probably have). One thing I can say has been going well lately: I haven’t had to worry about money for a while; my bank account has actually been growing at a fairly nice rate. Buying a house of my own may be a real thing in the next few years.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Life the Past Few Months at Sanguified Strings.

meta